Happy Spring, everyone. Daylight savings has worked its magic, but wow was I out of whack for a few days. Losing an hour of sleep really did a number on me. Was anyone else’s appetite all over the place too? Just me? Cool. Well, now that spring has officially sprung, it’s time to look for those little things that will get us through the last chilly days and into those deliciously warm ones. Here’s a few that have brightened my days this month.

  • Target jeans- I know, I know what you’re thinking. Can denim from Target really be that high-quality? But I gotta say, the pair I got back in September has remained my favorites, so the other week I went back and got two more. They’re high waisted (read: flattering) and super comfortable. I got a pair that I could wear to work and wouldn’t mind getting dirty, but they’re also one of my favorites to wear on a night out! Don’t be a denim snob. Give ’em a whirl.
  • Bee Season by Myla Goldberg- I picked this novel up on a random bookstore trip and I’ve been flying through it. It’s about a shy Jewish girl who upends her family dynamics by making it all the way to the National Spelling Bee. Great, complex characters.
  • Garnier Apricot Facial Scrub– I bought this with a friend to use as a mask, but it works great as a scrub too! Keep it in your shower to give your skin a good pampering a few times a week. You know you need to.
  • Grocery store flowers- Every other trip to Stop and Shop, I pick up the cheapest bouquet I can find and put them in a vase when I get home. It totally brightens up the space, and gets me excited about seeing things bloom again. Last week I got daffodils. Next week I might go a step further and get a hanging ivy plant?! Crazy.
  • Marshall’s workout clothes- I finally joined a gym, which meant I had to/got to go shopping for more leggings and tanks. But where do you go to buy activewear in bulk without breaking the bank? Marshalls. They have leggings with pockets(!!), super breathable shirts, and cool pullovers, all for under $20. Let me repeat that: Leggings. With. Pockets.
  • Tow’rs– In preparation for seeing them concert next weekend, I’ve been listening to this indie duo on shuffle and their music is so mesmerizing. I suggest listening to them during quiet mornings, evenings in, or a sunset drive.
  • Eggs Benedict- I taught myself to make hollandaise sauce, and basically I’m going through a carton of eggs every five days now. Not a huge milestone (or a huge surprise if you know my breakfast habits), but I’m doing a lot of poaching these days and thoroughly enjoying every minute.
  • Stitchfix- There’s so much I could say about the convenience and creativity of this clothing subscription service, but I’ll just stick with this: if you’re looking for a way to find new wardrobe pieces that are within your style but not something you’d have chosen for yourself, try this out. I get a fix every other month and the latest two tops I bought are already staples in my weekend outfits. Huge bonus that the $20 styling fee is applied to anything you buy, too.
  • Word game apps- Go ahead, call me old fashioned. I don’t care. I’ve been taking a break from social media for Lent (a hard habit to break, lemme tell you), and a quick game of online Scrabble can really scratch that itch for phone time. I even got back into Sudoku, something the me of five years ago would never have done. And not to brag, but *cracks knuckles* I’m already acing the intermediate level games.

 

There you have it. April is almost upon us! Maybe next month some of my favorite things will involve being outdoors. Here’s hoping.

Peace,

Abigail

Leave a comment